Posted by: kunderthedesk | November 11, 2009

Ornament Cozy Pattern

ornaments1

Photo copyright to Lesley Karpiuk

Heya, KUTD-ers! Welcome to Wednesday, and another Knit-Under-The-Desk-able pattern suggestion from us here at Knitting Under the Desk! Today’s pattern suggestion is a little early, since it’s Christmas/Winter holiday related and it’s not even Thanksgiving yet, but I figured posting this one far enough in advance would be advantageous for those who want to get a head start on holiday knits.

Today I showcase the Knitted Christmas Ornament Covers by Judy Sumner over at KnoxSocks. Aren’t these fantastic?! The pictures I’ve included on today’s post are my own, because I’m currently in the middle of whipping up 13 of these babies to give as Christmas gifts to friends and family this year. (I’m about halfway done.) The pattern includes instructions for creating ornament covers in either worsted or DK weight yarn, so you’ll need something festive in one of those weights. I chose a 100% cotton by Bernat in holiday colors, but you could experiement with other yarn textures and colors.  You’ll also  need clear glass ornaments to cover with your fabulous knitting — approximately 9-1/2″ circumference. You can find these at your local big box craft stores like Michaels, Hobby Lobby, or JoAnn Fabrics. To knit, you’ll want some US size 5 DPNs or circulars — however you prefer to knit in the round.

ornaments2

Photo copyright to Lesley Karpiuk

I absolutely adore this pattern. It’s quick and simple and kinda sorta makes me feel like I’m knitting something exotic. On the needles it looks fairly plain as you go, but once you stretch it over your glass ornament you’ll be amazed at how elegant it looks. It spirals and looks lacey and intricate. I think putting some fun gold garland or something sparkly inside of the glass ornament first will add an extra special touch to your finished piece.  Make one for yourself or make a bunch to adorn your tree. Or make a bunch to pass out to family and friends – either way, they’re super fast and a huge hit!

Have a great week and see you next Monday! Don’t forget that if you come across a free pattern that you find particularly KUTD-able, send it my way! I’d love to credit you for the submission and post your pattern ideas here as well. Take care!

Categories

