Posted by: kunderthedesk | October 19, 2009

Foliage Hat Pattern

Photo copyright to Emilee Mooney, published in Knitty Fall 2007

Photo copyright to Emilee Mooney, published in Knitty Fall 2007

KUTD is back, yay! As I mentioned in my previous post, thank you for your understanding and patience as I let KUTD go by the wayside during my adjustment period moving back to the states and job hunting this summer. I’m happily teaching middle school computers now and am LOVING it! That means I’ve got more time to devote to bringing you quality FREE knit-under-the-desk-able patterns twice weekly here on the KUTD blog. Welcome back!

Fall is here and today’s pattern is one that I’ve had queued for at least a year on Ravelry, the Foliage knitted hat pattern by Emilee Mooney. Foliage was published in the Fall 2007 edition of Knitty and is really popular! I just love the way the lace pattern looks like real fall leaves, and it’s even more gorgeous when done in a fall color like the ones the author used. Have I mentioned that fall is my favorite season?

To create Foliage for yourself or a loved one, you’ve got two options: chunky or worsted weight. In the photo, the chunky version is done in the yellow, and the worsted weight is done in the burnt orange color. Having options gives you a lot of flexibility and makes it easier to stash bust!

Version 1 is the chunkier version, and it calls for US sizes 9 and 10.5 needles.  Version 2 is the worsted weight version, and it calls for US sizes 5 and 7 needles.   For both versions you can either use DPNs or 16″ circulars in the correct needle size to obtain gauge, whatever your preference! I plan to give this a go on my 16″ circulars because with all of the baby hats I’ve been knitting lately magic loop style, it might be nice to just do a simple in-the-round project where I don’t have to magic loop. (At least until the crown shaping.) The yarn recommendation calls for Malabrigo in whichever weight you chose, and it’s recommended to use a kettle dyed yarn to give your hat a rustic, mottled look that mimics the colors of the changing leaves. You should only need 1 skein per hat for both weights.

Check back Wednesday for a new KUTD-able pattern suggestion to combat cooler fall weather; I don’t know about you, but the onset of the brisk mornings and cooler days has inspired me to dig out the needles and hot chocolate already, and it reminds me why fall is my favorite season. Thanks for stopping by and hope to see you soon. Happy Monday! :)

Categories

