Posted by: kunderthedesk | July 6, 2009

Ballet School Dropout Sockette Pattern

photo copyright to user 'smudgeness' of craftster.org

photo copyright to user 'smudgeness' of craftster.org

Another Monday, another week here at KUTD. Welcome back! I hope you had a great weekend. Around here the weather was pretty nice for the Calgary Stampede and then the rain came. And apparently the rain plans to stay for most of this week. Bummer. Glad we got our trip to the Stampede in before the weather went downhill!

This weekend I spent my Saturday morning knitting away, starting at 6am on the front porch steps of a local tattoo shop. Yes, you read that right! Saturdays are drop-in days, and even though the shop doesn’t open until noon, people get there early and wait in line so that they can get a first-come, first-served appointment scheduled, starting at noon. My husband and I were the first ones there at 6am and I brought along what I had left to finish on the Organic Baby Wrapper blanket I’ve been knitting for my brother and sister-in-law. (I featured this pattern a few weeks back!) We only had to wait around 3 hours before someone came to take drop-in names and schedule them, which was a nice chunk of knitting time! (I finished the blanket, by the way!) You may be wondering what this all has to do with knitting and/or knitting under your desk at work. The appointment was for me, and I got a tattoo of a beautiful Canadian maple leaf on the top of my right foot to celebrate my life and love in Canada. I’ve lived here for three years and my (Canadian) husband and I are moving back to the states soonish, so I wanted a way to remember this very important part of my life.  I’m taking special care of my foot this week, but I immediately started thinking of the kinds of summery socks I could make to show off the design. That’s when I ran into these awesome Ballet School Dropout Sockettes by Inspire Knits on the Purl This! blog. Perfect!

my Canadian maple leaf tattoo

my Canadian maple leaf tattoo

For the ballet flat sockettes you’ll need US size 2 needles and some stretchy, pretty sock yarn. The designer used less than a single skein of Crystal Palace’s Maizy yarn; an 82% corn fiber and 18% nylon blend. In the photo above, by Craftster member smudgeness, a yarn with a bit of cotton was used. She links to her Ravelry project page in case you’re looking for yarn alternatives. I think this project would be great for using up leftover sock yarn since these aren’t full-on socks nor have the same yarn requirements. I love that they can be worn with closed-toe flats or other similar summery shoes to keep your feet from getting smelly in the heat when you’re not wearing sandals. Besides, seeing too much sock — even when it’s an anklet if it’s too “tall” — with summery shoes can look funny, at least to me. I may also be crazy.

So there you have it, an excellent Monday morning knit-under-your-desk-able pattern, perfect for the season. Hope you had an enjoyable weekend, and we’ll see you back here Wednesday for more ideas to keep you busy at work :) Take care!

Categories

