Posted by: kunderthedesk | July 1, 2009

A Canada Day & Fourth of July Pattern

photos copyright to Marg (left) & solmama (right)

photos copyright to Marg (left) & solmama (right)

Happy Canada Day and/or Fourth of July (coming up in a few days on the 4th, of course!)

Today is Canada Day, and some of you may be aware that I’m an American girl living in Canada. I’ve been living here for three years now, and we tend to celebrate a little of both in our household, as my husband is Canadian. Think about it folks, that’s TWO Thanksgivings and TWO awesome summer celebrations nearly back-to-back. So why not suggest TWO patterns today? Are you with me? Awesome.

In hono(u)r of Canada Day today and the Fourth of July coming up this weekend, I thought I’d offer up TWO pattern suggestions for today’s posting and let you decide which one is more appropriate for you. (Sorry to those who do not live in either the U.S. or Canada and couldn’t care less!) Because I’ve been on a dishcloth kick lately, working on a set for my boss (I’ll post about that next week!) I figured sharing dishcloth patterns would be in order.  These are a little more work than your typical knit-under-the-desk-able pattern, but seeing as how it’s a holiday today in Canada, you’re probably going to be knitting this at home on your day off anyway! Same goes to those of you who will be celebrating this weekend in the states. Celebrate not being at work with something a little more bold than usual.

photo copyright to Marg of nittineedles @ Greasy

photo copyright to Marg of nittineedles @ Greasy

First up, today’s holiday. Happy Canada Day! I’ve got two choices for you here (I know, I know, I said TWO above implying one pattern suggestion for Canada Day and one pattern suggestion for Independence Day, so sue me.) only because one requires some fancy stranding/fair isle colorwork to complete and the other does not. Choose whichever is easiest for you or whichever cloth you prefer. The colorwork requires changes mid-row which isn’t always easy at work (though you’ll most likely have the day off to work on this anyway!) and produces a somewhat more obvious “wrong side”, which you may not like.  However, you cannot deny the beauty of this Canadian Flag Dishcloth by Marg of nittineedles via Greasy. All you’ll need is some red and white worsted weight cotton (obviously) and US size 6 needles and away you go!

photo copyright to Emily of Designs by Emily

photo copyright to Emily of Designs by Emily

If you’d prefer something of the simpler variety without colorwork, I love this Maple Leaf Dishcloth by Emily over at Designs by Emily. You’ll need to scroll waaaay down to the near bottom to find it, but it’s worth the scroll because you’ll get a sneak peak at all of the fabulous other dishcloth patterns that Emily has available to you for free there. Her pattern requires US size 7 needles and some (surprise!) worsted weight cotton. What better symbol to iconify Canada than a beautiful maple leaf? (And NO I do NOT mean the hockey team… Go Flames!)  I really like the simplicity of this pattern and the neat effect of the leaf. It also makes for simpler and quicker knit work.

photo copyright to solmana

photo copyright to solmana

For those of you of the Fourth of July persuasion instead, I’ve got another real beauty planned for you: the Broad Stripes and Bright Stars cloth designed by solmama at the Ribbed For Your Pleasure blog. Isn’t it stunning? This colorwork will be a bit easier since you’re joining colors at the end of a row. I won’t tell if you make knots, by the way. It’ll be our secret. I know you’re going to be shocked to know that you’ll need worsted weight cotton in the colors red, white, and blue. The pattern also calls for US size 7 needles.

And there you have it! Celebrate your independence* this week with a fitting dishcloth of your choosing (or be like me and make one of each!) and enjoy the festivities and celebrations! See you next week; don’t party too hard ;)

* Technically Canada Day (formerly Dominion Day) is more a celebration about the joining of the British colonies with the Province of Canada to form a federation or single country, and differs from Independence Day in the U.S. because “it does not commemorate a clear-cut date of complete independence.” (Wikipedia). Whatever, though. You know what I mean!
Responses

  1. […] patriotic today (or on Saturday for the 4th of July) check out my free pattern suggestions over at Knitting Under The Desk – I think you’ll like both the Canadian and U.S. holiday ideas. And if you’re an […]


Categories

