Posted by: kunderthedesk | June 29, 2009

Ribbed Lace Bolero Pattern

photo copyright to Kelly of 10 Feet High

photo copyright to Kelly of 10 Feet High

Another Monday is upon us and instead of grimacing, we should be embracing today’s knit-under-the-desk-able pattern suggestion: The Ribbed Lace Bolero pattern by Kelly of 10 Feet High. Isn’t it fantastic? I’ve really been wanting to get around to making one of these for myself and so I thought I’d share my lust with all of you.

Such an airy, lacy bolero is a perfect summertime accessory, as you never know when it might get a tad bit chilly in the evenings, but because it’s summer, not so chilly that you’d need a full-on sweater. This bolero provides a little extra modesty if necessary all while having such an open, breezy pattern that it’s still suitable for warm summer nights on the town.  It instantly dresses up the simple tank top you were wearing earlier in the day with a little flair that’s perfect for an evening dinner on the patio with friends.

The Ribbed Lace Bolero was designed by Kelly and based on the simple circular shrug pattern found on craftster.org. It features a little ribbing and her subbed in lace pattern to create an elegantly functional piece. The pattern calls for  2 balls of Lion Brand Cotton-Ease yarn, which is a soft worsted weight cotton blend, and sizes US 8 and 10.5 needles. Now while the pattern is written in a small size, Kelly has generously provided the easy calculations (they really are easy!) to create a pattern that can be better customized for anyone. I think what I love most is that there’s no complicated shaping on this pattern; it ends up being a large rectangle and with a few smart seams, becomes something gorgeous.  Because it’s so open and lacy it’s like wearing a pretty sweater without the sweltering heat of a sweater in the summer.

If I ever finish all of these baby knits for my lovely sister-in-law I think making her and I matching Ribbed Lace Boleros is in order for the holidays :) Have a great Monday and see you back here Wednesday. Enjoy!

Responses

  1. cool

  2. How do you do!I want to this болеро.Knitting. Teach me please. Much you grateful.


Categories

