Posted by: kunderthedesk | June 24, 2009

Organic Baby Wrapper Pattern

photo copyright to Lesley Karpiuk

photo copyright to Lesley Karpiuk

Happy Wednesday! I’m still trying to get myself organized after being on vacation, not to mention I’ve got two online courses going on this week with three papers to write. Busy, busy! I thought a nice and simple pattern would be a good suggestion for today, and while it may appear to be a too-big project or a too-fancy project, this Organic Baby Wrapper by Fawn Pea  is just the ticket for a fine knit-under-the-desk-able pattern suggestion.

I’ve been in baby knitting mode since Tuesday last week when my brother and his wife found out that they are having a boy. For months I’d been setting aside baby knitting patterns in anticipation, but ever so patiently waiting to start projects until I heard whether I needed to go out and buy blue or pink yarn, and the announcement was just in time for me to stock up on yarn for our trip.  This pattern calls for an organic cotton yarn such as the very soft Blue Sky Alpacas organic cotton, but I will admit I used Bernat Cottontots baby cotton for my wrapper because I was in a pinch with only one day before I headed off to Nova Scotia.

photo copyright to Lesley Karpiuk

photo copyright to Lesley Karpiuk

The Organic Baby Wrapper is only 85 stitches wide and because it’s a baby blanket, won’t take up more than a little lap space as you work it under your desk. I worked on mine in the car, on the plane, and on the balcony of our seaside cottage. Oh how I miss the sound of the ocean already!  The pattern calls for US size 7 needles and you will be amazed at how simple the pattern repeat is and yet how delicate and fancy the design turns out. Using a baby blue color and working on it by the ocean, the “waves” in the pattern really seemed fitting!  I only got around 65% through the blanket before we got home, so the wave design will remind me of the beautiful Nova Scotia coastline as I finish it up here at work. :) Enjoy!

Categories

