Posted by: kunderthedesk | June 22, 2009

Flippant Flip Flop Sock Pattern

Photo copyright to Sivia Harding Knitting Designs

Photo copyright to Sivia Harding Knitting Designs

UGH! This didn’t post automatically for me like it was supposed to. It even still says “Publish on June 22, 2009 @ 8:55am!” Oh well. I must’ve missed something. Sorry that this is late…

Good morning and happy Monday! I wrote this post up a little in advance and scheduled it to post automatically for me this morning, as my husband and I are on a 4 day getaway in beautiful Nova Scotia until late this evening celebrating our wedding anniversary. I wanted to make sure you didn’t think I had forgotten about you!  And today’s pattern is so much fun I’m sure you’ll be glad I didn’t forget.

I know that socks are a popular choice for knitting under your desk based on a poll I put up back in April, but in my search for a great sock pattern I was also trying to find something that screamed summer at the same time. I came across this amazing pattern by Sivia Harding Knit Designs called Flippant: Flip Flop Socks. How clever are these?!  They’re not your typical sock, but they sure do serve a great purpose in the way of socks when paired with your favorite summer sandals or flip flops. I know a lot of you have had fabulous weather for at least a month now, but here in Calgary we’ve only just recently been treated with something that feels like summer, though most of us are too scared to admit or acknowledge it just in case it jinxes our sunshine. So it wasn’t until recently I threw on my flip flops for the first time of the season. Those first few wears with sandals or flip flops can be a bit sore as your feet get used to the change, and I think these flip flop socks are just what the doctor ordered.

Photo copyright to Sivia Harding Knitting Designs

Photo copyright to Sivia Harding Knitting Designs

What I like about Flippant is that it’s a pair of socks without being full-length (and full-time consuming) socks. You’ll have these done in no time, and the pattern is interesting enough to keep your attention throughout without being so fiddly that you couldn’t knit these under your desk at work.  Because they’re so short and simple and cover such a small portion of your foot, they’re not likely to cause the reaction that most people get when they wear full socks with sandals. None of that icky stigma associated with wearing socks with sandals! These babies are fashionable all while being practical. Your feet will thank you.

Flippant calls for a small amount of fingering weight yarn and US size 1-2 needles, depending on what you require to achieve gauge.  The pattern discusses DPN use, but you could just as easily complete these using your other preferred method such as Magic Loop with one or two needles.  I think this would be a great way to bust some of that leftover sock yarn stash you’ve got! Please note that there’s errata listed in the bottom right corner of the main description page of Flippant, so when you download the pattern keep that in mind and be sure to make any necessary changes before beginning.

Photo copyright to Sivia Harding Knitting Designs

Photo copyright to Sivia Harding Knitting Designs

A quick note on obtaining the pattern: The main site I direct you via links above in the post takes you to Sivia Harding’s page about Flippant and a download link for the PDF. That PDF download link when you click “get now” leads you to a Ravelry link. In the event you are not a member of Ravelry, a direct link to the PDF can be found via KnittingPatternCentral’s site here.

Categories

