Posted by: kunderthedesk | August 3, 2009

5 Hour Baby Boy Sweater Pattern

photo copyright to Lesley Karpiuk

photo copyright to Lesley Karpiuk

Welcome back from the mini hiatus while I moved countries, readers! I’m sure you didn’t miss me *too* much, eh?  As I mentioned in a previous post, my husband and I moved with our two dogs in our Neon pulling a 4′ x 8′ trailer from Calgary, Alberta Canada to the southside of Indianapolis, IN USA. It was a 38 hour drive that we managed to split up over 3 days. 3 days in the car with my 3 boys was sure an adventure! But we’re here now and all settled in back in my hometown and so the Knitting Under the Desk blog is also back to share goodies with you.

This week, in honor of one of the projects I worked on while on the road, your KUTD-able pattern suggestion is the 5 Hour Baby Boy Sweater by Jesse’s Branch Charity Crafts.  As the notes on the Ravelry page for this pattern says, “This pattern eliminates the holes that makes the Classic 5-Hour Sweater look “girlish”.” I loved the look and made one for my baby nephew due in October.  I have never made a sweater before, and this pattern was pretty darn easy for even me to follow and complete. I mean, it actually turned out to look like a real sweater, so it couldn’t have been that hard if I could do it! It didn’t take up a lot of space, so it would fit easily on your lap while knitting under your desk.  I think you’ll find that the simple yet boyish garter ridges to really add a little extra cute to this sweater. The yoke area features the garter ridges, and the front panel trim and sleeves feature the garter trim that pulls it all together.

The 5 Hour Baby Boy Sweater calls for some worsted weight yarn of your choice and US size 10 – 10.5 needles; whatever necessary to reach the 4 stitches = 1″ gauge. For me, that was US size 10 needles.  You’ll also need a few stitch markers, and I highly recommend using an interchangeable needle set; this made it so easy for me to put parts onto spare cords as I worked on other portions of the sweater.  I could easily unscrew the needle tips and create a new needle set for working separately on the sleeves, for example, while my big long 40″ cable was capped off on either end, holding the rest of the sweater securely in place.  With it being my first sweater, I just sort of had to figure it out as I went along, and that seemed most natural to me.

finishedbabyjacket04

photo copyright to Lesley Karpiuk

The 5 Hour Baby Boy Sweater is the perfect quick knit for a future baby boy in your life, or can be knit up and given as a gift at a baby shower. I can’t wait to give it to my sister-in-law at her baby shower in September! I know she is doing a car theme, so I picked out an adorable little car button for the closure at the top of the sweater.  This means you could dress this little number up to fit any occasion or theme.  Is the baby due just before Christmas? Knit up one of these sweaters in a deep red and adorn with a little Christmas tree button for something festive.

And I wouldn’t be a very honest blogger if Ididn’t admit that the ’5 hour’ part of the 5 Hour Baby Boy Sweater actually turned into more like 12 hours for me. I am not sure if this is because I really took my time since I was on an extra long road trip, or it had more to do with me being a slow knitter or it being the first sweater project I’ve ever tackled. It’s possible it was a combination of all three circumstances, but either way — experienced and beginner knitters alike will find this pattern to be a snap to complete :) If I can do it, so can you! Enjoy, and welcome back to Knitting Under the Desk. See you Wednesday!

Responses

  1. I think this is just the cutest & looks so easy- you did a great job! I am also needing to make a boy sweater for twins. I am curious as to what size baby sweater this is as I didn’t see sizes on the pattern itself. Please advise. I would like to make a 12 month size so it will fit for the whole winter season. Also, which yarn did you end up using for this project?

    Thank you!

  2. Thanks!

    The pattern states, “Garment measures 20 ins around, would fit about 17-18″” and that’s what I measured mine at. I used Loops & Threads Impeccable in the Seaside Ombre colorway. It’s the new Michaels yarn. Good luck!


Categories

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

